Ep 3: India -Tharavad Theyyam

A Theyyam of these vibrant, very much human, Hindu gods is a  yearly event in my ethnic hometown. I watched ,fascinated, through my camera lens as these men impersonated the many Hindu gods that I read about, prayed to and sang about as a child. I may be an atheist now but there is a surreality in watching these heavily clad, unnerving gods dance to the wild beat of the chenda..drums.

IMG_3257 IMG_3258 IMG_3260  IMG_3265

IMG_3281

IMG_3270

IMG_3286

IMG_3324

IMG_3329

IMG_3347

IMG_3413IMG_3531

IMG_3398

Leave a Reply

