It was ‘LoyKra’zy !

The Loy Krathong festival in Thailand has been one of my best experiences here so far! Thanking the water god for the water and marking the end of the rainy season, the festival is celebrated with great enthusiasm on the full moon day in November every year. A festival perfect for those photographers and non-photographers alike (I am of course of the latter group) to get their fill of bright colours, beautiful people and a memorable evening of traditions. An exciting week for the students and teachers alike since everyone is suited up in their everyday-best and since pink is the colour of festivity, almost everyone was in varying shades of pink. It may not be my favourite colour but I wasn’t about to be a festival pooper at any rate!

My day started off with letting the children off the lesson planned class of prepositions and allowing them to talk about the festival and make their own krathongs. krathong is a candle-holder essentially made from styrofoam (or sometimes more eco-friendly things) as a base, varying shades of banana leaves shaped into designs, flowers, a candle and incense sticks. I tried my hand at one and was just getting the hang of it when I was whisked off to get dressed in the traditional outfit mid-afternoon. The process was meant to take a bit more than four hours so with the promise from a friend that she would make a krathong for me, I went to get my head painfully reshaped and my body wrapped in pretty pieces of cloth.

I was 'blown away' by the traditional outfit!

I was ‘blown away’ by the traditional outfit! The hairdresser getting knotty with my hair.

 IMAG1875-1

In the middle stands our costume designer!

Beautiful costume, painful hairdo and some ill-looking make-up later- this is what we looked like. In the middle stands our costume designer.

1415198747836

The river was filled with krathongs carrying all kinds of wishes! Borabu school had a long line of teachers and students walking in a parade to the river with our krathongs. There were trucks with music and people dancing everywhere.

My beautiful krathong made by my colleague.

My beautiful krathong made by my colleague.

This bio-degradable krathong was fabulously inexpensive and spongy!

This bio-degradable krathong was fabulously inexpensive and spongy!

Good luck wishes waiting to be made and out they will float with our krathong along the river

Good luck wishes waiting to be made and out they will float with our krathong along the river.

Made two wishes two days in a row! The lovely Jum from GVI looking beautiful in the candle light. She hadn't celebrated this festival in 5 years and was incredibly excited, despite that demure looking smile!

Made two wishes two days in a row! The lovely Jum from GVI looking beautiful in the candle light. She hadn’t celebrated this festival in 5 years and was incredibly excited, despite that demure looking smile!

I realize the post comes aeons after the actual festival but it’s been a madcap few weeks of visa work. But that’s a whole other story!

Leave a Reply

